]> nv-tegra.nvidia Code Review - linux-3.10.git/commitdiff
[PATCH] remove name length check in a workqueue
authorJames Bottomley <James.Bottomley@SteelEye.com>
Wed, 10 Aug 2005 18:29:15 +0000 (11:29 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@g5.osdl.org>
Wed, 10 Aug 2005 18:55:19 +0000 (11:55 -0700)
We have a chek in there to make sure that the name won't overflow
task_struct.comm[], but it's triggering for scsi with lots of HBAs, only
scsi is using single-threaded workqueues which don't append the "/%d"
anyway.

All too hard.  Just kill the BUG_ON.

Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org>
[ kthread_create() uses vsnprintf() and limits the thing, so no
  actual overflow can actually happen regardless ]

Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
kernel/workqueue.c

index 259cf55da3c9002cf390099fafa5f2de885ecc89..c7e36d4a70cabdb9711640575e68ac86d68a7da1 100644 (file)
@@ -308,8 +308,6 @@ struct workqueue_struct *__create_workqueue(const char *name,
        struct workqueue_struct *wq;
        struct task_struct *p;
 
-       BUG_ON(strlen(name) > 10);
-
        wq = kmalloc(sizeof(*wq), GFP_KERNEL);
        if (!wq)
                return NULL;