]> nv-tegra.nvidia Code Review - linux-3.10.git/commit
[PATCH] bttv: fix dst i2c read/write timeout failure.
authorManu Abraham <manu@kromtek.com>
Thu, 5 May 2005 23:16:01 +0000 (16:16 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@ppc970.osdl.org>
Thu, 5 May 2005 23:36:44 +0000 (16:36 -0700)
commitfc9d53af37deeb830252f03c62724078d943686c
tree95e018111ee1db5657100077a25fa5d7d416d676
parent2ef41634def0fcb0def3e3c90220c651ca478cb3
[PATCH] bttv: fix dst i2c read/write timeout failure.

Attached is a patch to bttv which fixes the following problems.

Affected cards and problems:
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
o VP-1020 (200103A) Tuning problems, device detection.
o VP-1020 (DST-MOT) Errors during tuning, device detection fails in a while.
o VP-1030 (DST-CI) Tuning sometimes fails after CI commands.
o VP-2031 (DCT-CI) Tuning problems

The timeout happens before the actual timeout occured in the MCU
on the board, and hence the problems.

Changes: (bttv-i2c.diff)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
o Changed the custom wait queue to wait_event_interruptible_timeout()
      - Suggestion by Johannes Stezenbach.

o Fixed the wait queue timeout problem
      - This fixes the timeout problem on various cards.
      - This problem was visible as many
          * Cannot tune to channels, when signal levels are very low.
          * app_info does not work in some conditions for CI based cards
      - Smaller values worked good for newer cards, but the older cards
suffered, settled down to the worst case values that could happen in any
eventuality.

Signed-off-by: Manu Abraham <manu@kromtek.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
drivers/media/video/bttv-i2c.c