]> nv-tegra.nvidia Code Review - linux-2.6.git/commitdiff
[PATCH] i386: port ATI timer fix from x86_64 to i386 II
authorAndi Kleen <ak@suse.de>
Thu, 9 Mar 2006 01:57:25 +0000 (17:57 -0800)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@g5.osdl.org>
Thu, 9 Mar 2006 02:10:31 +0000 (18:10 -0800)
ATI chipsets tend to generate double timer interrupts for the local APIC
timer when both the 8254 and the IO-APIC timer pins are enabled.  This is
because they route it to both and the result is anded together and the CPU
ends up processing it twice.

This patch changes check_timer to disable the 8254 routing for interrupt 0.

I think it would be safe on all chipsets actually (i tested it on a couple
and it worked everywhere) and Windows seems to do it in a similar way, but
to be conservative this patch only enables this mode on ATI (and adds
options to enable/disable too)

Ported over from a similar x86-64 change.

I reused the ACPI earlyquirk infrastructure for the ATI bridge check, but
tweaked it a bit to work even without ACPI.

Inspired by a patch from Chuck Ebbert, but redone.

Cc: Chuck Ebbert <76306.1226@compuserve.com>
Cc: "Brown, Len" <len.brown@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>

No differences found