]> nv-tegra.nvidia Code Review - linux-2.6.git/commitdiff
x86: avoid theoretical vmalloc fault loop
authorAndi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org>
Fri, 9 Jan 2009 20:17:43 +0000 (12:17 -0800)
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Mon, 12 Jan 2009 18:24:21 +0000 (19:24 +0100)
Ajith Kumar noticed:

 I was going through the vmalloc fault handling for x86_64 and am unclear
 about the following lines in the vmalloc_fault() function.

 pgd = pgd_offset(current->mm ?: &init_mm, address);
 pgd_ref = pgd_offset_k(address);

 Here the intention is to get the pgd corresponding to the current process
 and sync it up with the pgd in init_mm(obtained from pgd_offset_k).
 However, for kernel threads current->mm is NULL and hence pgd =
 pgd_offset(init_mm, address) = pgd_ref which means the fault handler
 returns without setting the pgd entry in the MM structure in the context
 of which the kernel thread has faulted.  This could lead to never-ending
 faults and busy looping of kernel threads like pdflush.  So, shouldn't the
 pgd = pgd_offset(current->mm ?: &init_mm, address); be pgd =
 pgd_offset(current->active_mm ?: &init_mm, address);

We can use active_mm unconditionally because it should be always set.

Signed-off-by: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
arch/x86/mm/fault.c

index 9e268b6b204e1e3b34d639061aa43fcd9e0bbc3f..90dfae511a41e1dcf7fcf188b94d13c123780606 100644 (file)
@@ -534,7 +534,7 @@ static int vmalloc_fault(unsigned long address)
           happen within a race in page table update. In the later
           case just flush. */
 
-       pgd = pgd_offset(current->mm ?: &init_mm, address);
+       pgd = pgd_offset(current->active_mm, address);
        pgd_ref = pgd_offset_k(address);
        if (pgd_none(*pgd_ref))
                return -1;