]> nv-tegra.nvidia Code Review - linux-2.6.git/commitdiff
[PATCH] x86: do_IRQ(): check irq number
authorAndrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org>
Wed, 28 Jun 2006 11:26:43 +0000 (04:26 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@g5.osdl.org>
Wed, 28 Jun 2006 21:59:02 +0000 (14:59 -0700)
We recently changed x86 to handle more than 256 IRQs.  Add a check in do_IRQ()
just to make sure that nothing went wrong with that implementation.

[chrisw@sous-sol.org: do x86_64 too]
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>
Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@muc.de>
Cc: Chris Wright <chrisw@sous-sol.org>
Cc: "Protasevich, Natalie" <Natalie.Protasevich@UNISYS.com>
Cc: <Christian.Limpach@cl.cam.ac.uk>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
arch/i386/kernel/irq.c
arch/x86_64/kernel/irq.c

index c703bc7b08800cc4f82298deb0817aa05178f4c7..9eec9435318ea4053f80a1f097edcff6bce0184a 100644 (file)
@@ -60,6 +60,12 @@ fastcall unsigned int do_IRQ(struct pt_regs *regs)
        u32 *isp;
 #endif
 
+       if (unlikely((unsigned)irq >= NR_IRQS)) {
+               printk(KERN_EMERG "%s: cannot handle IRQ %d\n",
+                                       __FUNCTION__, irq);
+               BUG();
+       }
+
        irq_enter();
 #ifdef CONFIG_DEBUG_STACKOVERFLOW
        /* Debugging check for stack overflow: is there less than 1KB free? */
index 3be0a7e4bf08d1b0109c946d1470e0c0292bc214..bfa82f52a5cc5cb869f0c04905cd474ae54853b3 100644 (file)
@@ -118,6 +118,12 @@ asmlinkage unsigned int do_IRQ(struct pt_regs *regs)
        /* high bit used in ret_from_ code  */
        unsigned irq = ~regs->orig_rax;
 
+       if (unlikely(irq >= NR_IRQS)) {
+               printk(KERN_EMERG "%s: cannot handle IRQ %d\n",
+                                       __FUNCTION__, irq);
+               BUG();
+       }
+
        exit_idle();
        irq_enter();
 #ifdef CONFIG_DEBUG_STACKOVERFLOW