]> nv-tegra.nvidia Code Review - linux-2.6.git/commitdiff
ALSA: hda - Don't reset HP pinctl in patch_sigmatel.c
authorTakashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.de>
Wed, 14 Jan 2009 06:56:51 +0000 (07:56 +0100)
committerTakashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.de>
Wed, 14 Jan 2009 07:00:49 +0000 (08:00 +0100)
Resetting HP pinctl at the unplugged state may cause a sort of regression
on some devices because of their wrong pin configuration.

A simple workaround is to disable the pin reset.  This is ugly and may be
not good from the power-saving POV (if any), but damn simple.

Signed-off-by: Takashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.de>
Cc: stable@kernel.org
sound/pci/hda/patch_sigmatel.c

index 77fcc312a1f467b8278008f347721c5d44e35d3d..103ac6d743eff7c652a82be241bd203a3ccae0b1 100644 (file)
@@ -4225,8 +4225,19 @@ static void stac92xx_hp_detect(struct hda_codec *codec)
                        continue;
                if (presence)
                        stac92xx_set_pinctl(codec, cfg->hp_pins[i], val);
+#if 0 /* FIXME */
+/* Resetting the pinctl like below may lead to (a sort of) regressions
+ * on some devices since they use the HP pin actually for line/speaker
+ * outs although the default pin config shows a different pin (that is
+ * wrong and useless).
+ *
+ * So, it's basically a problem of default pin configs, likely a BIOS issue.
+ * But, disabling the code below just works around it, and I'm too tired of
+ * bug reports with such devices... 
+ */
                else
                        stac92xx_reset_pinctl(codec, cfg->hp_pins[i], val);
+#endif /* FIXME */
        }
 }