]> nv-tegra.nvidia Code Review - linux-2.6.git/commitdiff
[PARISC] Use page allocator instead of slab allocator in pci-dma.c
authorChristoph Lameter <clameter@sgi.com>
Tue, 16 Oct 2007 21:24:58 +0000 (14:24 -0700)
committerKyle McMartin <kyle@shortfin.cabal.ca>
Thu, 18 Oct 2007 07:58:45 +0000 (00:58 -0700)
Slab pages obtained via kmalloc are not cacheline aligned.  Nor is it
advisable to perform VM operations designed for page allocator pages on
memory obtained via kmalloc.

So replace the page sized allocations in kernel/pci-dma.c with page allocator
pages.

Signed-off-by: Christoph Lameter <clameter@sgi.com>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hugh@veritas.com>
Cc: Grant Grundler <grundler@parisc-linux.org>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@debian.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca>
arch/parisc/kernel/pci-dma.c

index 23c1388df1f55c5e2a34459ace9e08f336dad2df..41f8e321e34c250240c02db2d0d77075b7b20345 100644 (file)
@@ -569,11 +569,10 @@ static void *fail_alloc_consistent(struct device *dev, size_t size,
 static void *pa11_dma_alloc_noncoherent(struct device *dev, size_t size,
                                          dma_addr_t *dma_handle, gfp_t flag)
 {
-       void *addr = NULL;
+       void *addr;
 
-       /* rely on kmalloc to be cacheline aligned */
-       addr = kmalloc(size, flag);
-       if(addr)
+       addr = (void *)__get_free_pages(flag, get_order(size));
+       if (addr)
                *dma_handle = (dma_addr_t)virt_to_phys(addr);
 
        return addr;
@@ -582,7 +581,7 @@ static void *pa11_dma_alloc_noncoherent(struct device *dev, size_t size,
 static void pa11_dma_free_noncoherent(struct device *dev, size_t size,
                                        void *vaddr, dma_addr_t iova)
 {
-       kfree(vaddr);
+       free_pages((unsigned long)vaddr, get_order(size));
        return;
 }