]> nv-tegra.nvidia Code Review - linux-2.6.git/commitdiff
[PATCH] i386: Fix race in iounmap
authorAndi Kleen <ak@suse.de>
Fri, 20 May 2005 21:27:57 +0000 (14:27 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@ppc970.osdl.org>
Fri, 20 May 2005 22:48:20 +0000 (15:48 -0700)
We need to hold the vmlist_lock while doing change_page_attr, otherwise we
could reset someone else's mapping.

Requires previous patch to add __remove_vm_area

Signed-off-by: Andi Kleen <ak@suse.de>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
arch/i386/mm/ioremap.c

index db06f7399913f7da8a3b42d110f0dc24b41272cb..ab542792b27bbab0aa9be9fdf29d865b00e319e5 100644 (file)
@@ -238,19 +238,21 @@ void iounmap(volatile void __iomem *addr)
                        addr < phys_to_virt(ISA_END_ADDRESS))
                return;
 
-       p = remove_vm_area((void *) (PAGE_MASK & (unsigned long __force) addr));
+       write_lock(&vmlist_lock);
+       p = __remove_vm_area((void *) (PAGE_MASK & (unsigned long __force) addr));
        if (!p) { 
-               printk("__iounmap: bad address %p\n", addr);
-               return;
+               printk("iounmap: bad address %p\n", addr);
+               goto out_unlock;
        }
 
        if ((p->flags >> 20) && p->phys_addr < virt_to_phys(high_memory) - 1) {
-               /* p->size includes the guard page, but cpa doesn't like that */
                change_page_attr(virt_to_page(__va(p->phys_addr)),
                                 p->size >> PAGE_SHIFT,
                                 PAGE_KERNEL);
                global_flush_tlb();
        } 
+out_unlock:
+       write_unlock(&vmlist_lock);
        kfree(p); 
 }