KVM: Document MCE banks non-exposure via KVM_GET_MSR_INDEX_LIST
authorAvi Kivity <avi@redhat.com>
Wed, 7 Jul 2010 11:09:39 +0000 (14:09 +0300)
committerAvi Kivity <avi@redhat.com>
Mon, 2 Aug 2010 03:40:38 +0000 (06:40 +0300)
Signed-off-by: Avi Kivity <avi@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Marcelo Tosatti <mtosatti@redhat.com>
Documentation/kvm/api.txt

index d9b00f15fbe660b096bad185d88433c47376e4a7..179cc51c15e6e61d3cff1c9738e75d4d0bd5821e 100644 (file)
@@ -126,6 +126,10 @@ user fills in the size of the indices array in nmsrs, and in return
 kvm adjusts nmsrs to reflect the actual number of msrs and fills in
 the indices array with their numbers.
 
 kvm adjusts nmsrs to reflect the actual number of msrs and fills in
 the indices array with their numbers.
 
+Note: if kvm indicates supports MCE (KVM_CAP_MCE), then the MCE bank MSRs are
+not returned in the MSR list, as different vcpus can have a different number
+of banks, as set via the KVM_X86_SETUP_MCE ioctl.
+
 4.4 KVM_CHECK_EXTENSION
 
 Capability: basic
 4.4 KVM_CHECK_EXTENSION
 
 Capability: basic