]> nv-tegra.nvidia Code Review - linux-2.6.git/commit
libata: change drive ready wait after hard reset to 5s
authorStuart Hayes <stuart_hayes@dell.com>
Wed, 4 Mar 2009 19:59:46 +0000 (11:59 -0800)
committerJeff Garzik <jgarzik@redhat.com>
Thu, 5 Mar 2009 12:24:42 +0000 (07:24 -0500)
commite7d3ef13d52a126438f687a1a32da65ff926ed57
treeb4eb90e422f33fe6bb8756fcaadbd19863eae649
parent559595a985e106d2fa9f0c79b7f5805453fed593
libata: change drive ready wait after hard reset to 5s

This fixes problems during resume with drives that take longer than 1s to
be ready.  The ATA-6 spec appears to allow 5 seconds for a drive to be
ready.

On one affected system, this patch changes "PM: resume devices took..."
message from 17 seconds to 4 seconds, and gets rid of a lot of ugly
timeout/error messages.

Without this patch, the libata code moves on after 1s, tries to send a
soft reset (which the drive doesn't see because it isn't ready) which also
times out, then an IDENTIFY command is sent to the drive which times out,
and finally the error handler will try to send another hard reset which
will finally get things working.

Signed-off-by: Stuart Hayes <stuart_hayes@dell.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Jeff Garzik <jgarzik@redhat.com>
include/linux/libata.h