]> nv-tegra.nvidia Code Review - linux-2.6.git/commit
During VM oom condition, kill all threads in process group
authorWill Schmidt <will_schmidt@vnet.ibm.com>
Tue, 16 Oct 2007 08:24:18 +0000 (01:24 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@woody.linux-foundation.org>
Tue, 16 Oct 2007 16:42:52 +0000 (09:42 -0700)
commitdcca2bde4f86a14d3291660bede8f1844fe2b3df
tree6beef48bb4eb715e091c7db87953328314471886
parent1cd7daa51baf0934882bf24a7ae378ec75df665e
During VM oom condition, kill all threads in process group

We have had complaints where a threaded application is left in a bad state
after one of it's threads is killed when we hit a VM: out_of_memory
condition.

Killing just one of the process threads can leave the application in a bad
state, whereas killing the entire process group would allow for the
application to restart, or be otherwise handled, and makes it very obvious
that something has gone wrong.

This change allows the entire process group to be taken down, rather
than just the one thread.

Signed-off-by: Will Schmidt <will_schmidt@vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>
Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>
Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Ian Molton <spyro@f2s.com>
Cc: Haavard Skinnemoen <hskinnemoen@atmel.com>
Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com>
Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@suse.de>
Cc: "Luck, Tony" <tony.luck@intel.com>
Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org>
Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
Cc: Roman Zippel <zippel@linux-m68k.org>
Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
Cc: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@debian.org>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>
Cc: Kazumoto Kojima <kkojima@rr.iij4u.or.jp>
Cc: Richard Curnow <rc@rc0.org.uk>
Cc: William Lee Irwin III <wli@holomorphy.com>
Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
18 files changed:
arch/alpha/mm/fault.c
arch/arm/mm/fault.c
arch/avr32/mm/fault.c
arch/cris/mm/fault.c
arch/frv/mm/fault.c
arch/ia64/mm/fault.c
arch/m32r/mm/fault.c
arch/m68k/mm/fault.c
arch/mips/mm/fault.c
arch/parisc/mm/fault.c
arch/ppc/mm/fault.c
arch/s390/mm/fault.c
arch/sh/mm/fault.c
arch/sh64/mm/fault.c
arch/sparc/mm/fault.c
arch/sparc64/mm/fault.c
arch/x86/mm/fault_32.c
arch/xtensa/mm/fault.c