]> nv-tegra.nvidia Code Review - linux-2.6.git/commit
module: don't ignore vermagic string if module doesn't have modversions
authorRusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>
Fri, 9 May 2008 06:25:28 +0000 (16:25 +1000)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Fri, 9 May 2008 14:45:18 +0000 (07:45 -0700)
commit91e37a793b5a9436a2d12b2f0a8f52db3a133e1d
tree6ddf17ad786fa2a42ef79aa4f7873c79c1e17a89
parenta5dd69707424a35d2d2cc094e870f595ad61e916
module: don't ignore vermagic string if module doesn't have modversions

Linus found a logic bug: we ignore the version number in a module's
vermagic string if we have CONFIG_MODVERSIONS set, but modversions
also lets through a module with no __versions section for modprobe
--force (with tainting, but still).

We should only ignore the start of the vermagic string if the module
actually *has* crcs to check.  Rather than (say) having an
entertaining hissy fit and creating a config option to work around the
buggy code.

Signed-off-by: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
init/Kconfig
kernel/module.c