]> nv-tegra.nvidia Code Review - linux-2.6.git/commit
[PATCH] namespace.c: fix bind mount from foreign namespace
authorMiklos Szeredi <miklos@szeredi.hu>
Sun, 7 Aug 2005 16:42:25 +0000 (09:42 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@g5.osdl.org>
Sun, 7 Aug 2005 17:00:38 +0000 (10:00 -0700)
commit68b47139ea94ab6d05e89c654db8daa99e9a232c
tree807d693b22a11f7667cd16e90b43618f85f8a4e0
parent9ae5b3c703cce89a7d8ccf25fe16955ec6f016c0
[PATCH] namespace.c: fix bind mount from foreign namespace

I'm resending this patch, because I still believe it's the correct fix.

Tested before/after applying the patch with a test application
available from:

  http://www.inf.bme.hu/~mszeredi/nstest.c

Bind mount from a foreign namespace results in an un-removable mount.
The reason is that mnt->mnt_namespace is copied from the old mount in
clone_mnt().  Because of this check_mnt() in sys_umount() will fail.

The solution is to set mnt->mnt_namespace to current->namespace in
clone_mnt().  clone_mnt() is either called from do_loopback() or
copy_tree().  copy_tree() is called from do_loopback() or
copy_namespace().

When called (directly or indirectly) from do_loopback(), always
current->namspace is being modified: check_mnt(nd->mnt).  So setting
mnt->mnt_namespace to current->namspace is the right thing to do.

When called from copy_namespace(), the setting of mnt_namespace is
irrelevant, since mnt_namespace is reset later in that function for
all copied mounts.

Jamie said:

  This patch is correct.  The old code was buggy for more fundamental and
  serious reason: it broke the invariant that a tree of vfsmnts all have the
  same value of mnt_namespace (and the same for the mnt_list list).

Signed-off-by: Miklos Szeredi <miklos@szeredi.hu>
Acked-by: Jamie Lokier <jamie@shareable.org>
Cc: <viro@parcelfarce.linux.theplanet.co.uk>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
fs/namespace.c