]> nv-tegra.nvidia Code Review - linux-2.6.git/commit
[PATCH] Xmon bug fix for soft-reset
authorHaren Myneni <haren@us.ibm.com>
Wed, 3 Aug 2005 05:08:18 +0000 (15:08 +1000)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@g5.osdl.org>
Wed, 3 Aug 2005 05:16:45 +0000 (22:16 -0700)
commit5cb4cc0d8211c490537c8568001958fc76741312
tree3a3844a79cff56d84ecafd65ba5d8da25e158d2b
parent0b2bfb4e7ff61f286676867c3508569bea6fbf7a
[PATCH] Xmon bug fix for soft-reset

For soft reset during system hang, got an error "CPU did not take
control" for some CPUs even though they responded to soft-reset (called
SystemReset, die and called debugger - xmon).   First these CPUs entered
into xmon by IPI callback and then got a soft-reset exception and
re-entered into xmon again. The first CPU which re-entered into xmon got
the output lock and made into xmon successfully without unlocking.
Hence, the next CPU(s) which re-entered into xmon try to acquire a lock
(get_output_lock). Therefore, we can not view state of those CPU(s).

[This is a simple, very low risk, obvious fix for an obvious bug, and
should go into 2.6.13.  -- paulus]

Signed-off-by: Haren Myneni <hbabu@us.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
arch/ppc64/xmon/xmon.c