]> nv-tegra.nvidia Code Review - linux-2.6.git/commit
[PATCH] swiotlb: make sure initial DMA allocations really are in DMA memory
authorYasunori Goto <y-goto@jp.fujitsu.com>
Wed, 19 Oct 2005 22:52:18 +0000 (15:52 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@g5.osdl.org>
Thu, 20 Oct 2005 06:11:33 +0000 (23:11 -0700)
commit281dd25cdc0d6903929b79183816d151ea626341
treeed7898462492d853e422eb7f130f0b6e7efc0b69
parent51b190b304bbeb1090ba20b0623d39917fa62997
[PATCH] swiotlb: make sure initial DMA allocations really are in DMA memory

This introduces a limit parameter to the core bootmem allocator; The new
parameter indicates that physical memory allocated by the bootmem
allocator should be within the requested limit.

We also introduce alloc_bootmem_low_pages_limit, alloc_bootmem_node_limit,
alloc_bootmem_low_pages_node_limit apis, but alloc_bootmem_low_pages_limit
is the only api used for swiotlb.

The existing alloc_bootmem_low_pages() api could instead have been
changed and made to pass right limit to the core allocator.  But that
would make the patch more intrusive for 2.6.14, as other arches use
alloc_bootmem_low_pages().  We may be done that post 2.6.14 as a
cleanup.

With this, swiotlb gets memory within 4G for both x86_64 and ia64
arches.

Signed-off-by: Yasunori Goto <y-goto@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Ravikiran G Thirumalai <kiran@scalex86.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
arch/ia64/lib/swiotlb.c
include/linux/bootmem.h
mm/bootmem.c