]> nv-tegra.nvidia Code Review - linux-2.6.git/commit
xen_alloc_ptpage: cast PFN_PHYS() argument to unsigned long
authorEduardo Habkost <ehabkost@redhat.com>
Mon, 28 Jul 2008 21:32:09 +0000 (18:32 -0300)
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Thu, 31 Jul 2008 15:10:35 +0000 (17:10 +0200)
commit169ad16bb87c10a3f7c108bb7008ebc0270f617a
tree5c12745e3ddb98432ecb44bb629ae9c4e34f7c16
parentcef43bf6b3afd819f7cdcba356af0e8220fb3789
xen_alloc_ptpage: cast PFN_PHYS() argument to unsigned long

Currently paravirt_ops alloc_p*() uses u32 for the pfn args. We should
change that later, but while the pfn parameter is still u32, we need to
cast the PFN_PHYS() argument at xen_alloc_ptpage() to unsigned long,
otherwise it will lose bits on the shift.

I think PFN_PHYS() should behave better when fed with smaller integers,
but a cast to unsigned long won't be enough for all cases on 32-bit PAE,
and a cast to u64 would be overkill for most users of PFN_PHYS().

We could have two different flavors of PFN_PHYS: one for low pages
only (unsigned long) and another that works for any page (u64)),
but while we don't have it, we will need the cast to unsigned long on
xen_alloc_ptpage().

Signed-off-by: Eduardo Habkost <ehabkost@redhat.com>
Acked-by: Jeremy Fitzhardinge <jeremy.fitzhardinge@citrix.com>
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
arch/x86/xen/enlighten.c