]> nv-tegra.nvidia Code Review - linux-2.6.git/commit
fix early_serial_setup() regression
authorHelge Deller <deller@gmx.de>
Tue, 13 Jan 2009 21:51:07 +0000 (22:51 +0100)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Tue, 13 Jan 2009 22:03:43 +0000 (14:03 -0800)
commit125c97d8a59888c5678734c2b70cbd08c847bd99
tree39a22727dbbf543d457d73c91cc9b6b9db164f8e
parente0b325d310a6b11f1538413fd557d2eb98f2fae5
fix early_serial_setup() regression

Commit b430428a188e8a434325e251d0704af4b88b4711 ("8250: Don't clobber
spinlocks.") introduced a regression on the parisc architecture, which
broke the handover to the serial port at boottime.

early_serial_setup() was changed to only copy a subset of the uart_port
fields, and sadly the "type" and "line" fields were forgotten and thus
the serial port was not initialized and could not be used for a
handover.  This patch fixes this by copying the missing fields.

As this change to early_serial_setup() doesn't need an initialized
spinlock in the uart_port struct any longer, we can drop the spinlock
initialization in the superio driver.

Cc: David Daney <ddaney@caviumnetworks.com>
Cc: Tomaso Paoletti <tpaoletti@caviumnetworks.com>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Alan Cox <alan@lxorguk.ukuu.org.uk>
Acked-by: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca>
Cc: linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
drivers/parisc/superio.c
drivers/serial/8250.c