]> nv-tegra.nvidia Code Review - linux-2.6.git/commit
ramfs: ignore unknown mount options
authorMike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org>
Sun, 14 Jun 2009 21:56:48 +0000 (22:56 +0100)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Mon, 15 Jun 2009 00:58:25 +0000 (17:58 -0700)
commit0a8eba9b7f7aa3ad0305627c99ad4d6deedd871d
treec714028520de3facd053e33abc280dbd214df8fd
parent45e3e1935e2857c54783291107d33323b3ef33c8
ramfs: ignore unknown mount options

On systems where CONFIG_SHMEM is disabled, mounting tmpfs filesystems can
fail when tmpfs options are used.  This is because tmpfs creates a small
wrapper around ramfs which rejects unknown options, and ramfs itself only
supports a tiny subset of what tmpfs supports.  This makes it pretty hard
to use the same userspace systems across different configuration systems.
As such, ramfs should ignore the tmpfs options when tmpfs is merely a
wrapper around ramfs.

This used to work before commit c3b1b1cbf0 as previously, ramfs would
ignore all options.  But now, we get:
ramfs: bad mount option: size=10M
mount: mounting mdev on /dev failed: Invalid argument

Another option might be to restore the previous behavior, where ramfs
simply ignored all unknown mount options ... which is what Hugh prefers.

Signed-off-by: Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org>
Signed-off-by: Hugh Dickins <hugh.dickins@tiscali.co.uk>
Acked-by: Matt Mackall <mpm@selenic.com>
Acked-by: Wu Fengguang <fengguang.wu@intel.com>
Cc: stable@kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
fs/ramfs/inode.c