perf sort: Separate out branch stack specific sort keys
authorNamhyung Kim <namhyung.kim@lge.com>
Thu, 27 Dec 2012 09:11:46 +0000 (18:11 +0900)
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Thu, 24 Jan 2013 19:40:26 +0000 (16:40 -0300)
commitfc5871ed0dcf8c76dd1b3b36ff0f70112d2f0e74
treec0ebaf638bb6d51afc2e24dd6a4c3d35fe64a54a
parent6f38cf25a6af5b21da1d52a94d9f56f5af2a215b
perf sort: Separate out branch stack specific sort keys

Current perf report gets segmentation fault when a branch stack specific
sort key is provided by --sort option to a perf.data file which contains
no branch infomation.  It's because those sort keys reference branch
info of a hist entry unconditionally.  Maybe we can change it checks
whether such branch info is valid or not.  But if the branch stacks are
not recorded, it'd be nop.  Thus it'd be better to make those keys are
unselectable.

This patch separates those keys to a different dimension array, so that
if user passes such a key to a file which has no branch stack will get
following message rather than a segfault.

  Error: Invalid --sort key: `symbol_from'

Signed-off-by: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Reported-by: Stefan Beller <stefanbeller@googlemail.com>
Acked-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1356599507-14226-10-git-send-email-namhyung@kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
tools/perf/util/sort.c
tools/perf/util/sort.h