perf tools: Let O= makes handle relative paths
authorSteven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Mon, 13 Aug 2012 14:23:02 +0000 (10:23 -0400)
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Thu, 16 Aug 2012 17:11:11 +0000 (14:11 -0300)
commitc883122acc0d97648d8b8f4726709017674e4420
tree13b77c293c5c54099aa338d9f30cd6bf67b24227
parent0c21f736e0a37c50f66ab248d2a52f711b28a4e4
perf tools: Let O= makes handle relative paths

When I did a compile of perf using a relative path for the output
directory, the build failed when it tried to compile libtraceevent. This
is because it continues to use the same relative path when the new
working directory is in a different path.

    SUBDIR ../lib/traceevent/
/bin/sh: line 0: cd: ../../../nobackup/perf/: No such file or directory
Makefile:74: *** output directory "../../../nobackup/perf/" does not exist.  Stop.
make: *** [../../../nobackup/perf///libtraceevent.a] Error 2

Make the path used an absolute path when building perf with O=.

Boris:

Teach Makefile to check whether the supplied O= directory exists and
bail out if not. Reportedly, kernel dudes are idiots and need to be
guarded so as not to shoot themselves in the foot when playing in the
sandbox.

Signed-off-by: Borislav Petkov <borislav.petkov@amd.com>
Signed-off-by: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Acked-by: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung.kim@lge.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20120815163923.GD15989@aftab.osrc.amd.com
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
tools/scripts/Makefile.include