ARM: 7479/1: mm: avoid NULL dereference when flushing gate_vma with VIVT caches
authorWill Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Mon, 23 Jul 2012 13:18:13 +0000 (14:18 +0100)
committerRussell King <rmk+kernel@arm.linux.org.uk>
Tue, 31 Jul 2012 11:04:47 +0000 (12:04 +0100)
commitb74253f78400f9a4b42da84bb1de7540b88ce7c4
tree27a91700b0dafa9119ed774ad29f481152491ead
parent15ac49b65024f55c4371a53214879a9c77c4fbf9
ARM: 7479/1: mm: avoid NULL dereference when flushing gate_vma with VIVT caches

The vivt_flush_cache_{range,page} functions check that the mm_struct
of the VMA being flushed has been active on the current CPU before
performing the cache maintenance.

The gate_vma has a NULL mm_struct pointer and, as such, will cause a
kernel fault if we try to flush it with the above operations. This
happens during ELF core dumps, which include the gate_vma as it may be
useful for debugging purposes.

This patch adds checks to the VIVT cache flushing functions so that VMAs
with a NULL mm_struct are flushed unconditionally (the vectors page may
be dirty if we use it to store the current TLS pointer).

Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org> # 3.4+
Reported-by: Gilles Chanteperdrix <gilles.chanteperdrix@xenomai.org>
Tested-by: Uros Bizjak <ubizjak@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Signed-off-by: Russell King <rmk+kernel@arm.linux.org.uk>
arch/arm/include/asm/cacheflush.h