[libata] replace sata_settings with devslp_timing
authorShane Huang <shane.huang@amd.com>
Mon, 17 Dec 2012 15:18:59 +0000 (23:18 +0800)
committerJeff Garzik <jgarzik@redhat.com>
Mon, 14 Jan 2013 18:29:15 +0000 (13:29 -0500)
commit803739d25c2343da6d2f95eebdcbc08bf67097d4
tree59f3fd6a8285925c79419132b469602f4c36a0bf
parent7f9c9f8e24590e7dcd26ca408458c43df5b83e61
[libata] replace sata_settings with devslp_timing

NCQ capability was used to check availability of SATA Settings page
from Identify Device Data Log, which contains DevSlp timing variables.
It does not work on some HDDs and leads to error messages.

IDENTIFY word 78 bit 5(Hardware Feature Control) can't work either
because it is only the sufficient condition of Identify Device data
log, not the necessary condition.

This patch replaced ata_device->sata_settings with ->devslp_timing
to only save DevSlp timing variables(8 bytes), instead of the whole
SATA Settings page(512 bytes).

Addresses https://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=51881

Reported-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Signed-off-by: Shane Huang <shane.huang@amd.com>
Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Jeff Garzik <jgarzik@redhat.com>
drivers/ata/libahci.c
drivers/ata/libata-core.c
include/linux/ata.h
include/linux/libata.h