oprofile: Abstract the perf-events backend
authorMatt Fleming <matt@console-pimps.org>
Mon, 27 Sep 2010 19:45:08 +0000 (20:45 +0100)
committerRobert Richter <robert.richter@amd.com>
Mon, 11 Oct 2010 15:46:16 +0000 (17:46 +0200)
commit3d90a00763b51e1db344a7430c966be723b67a29
tree16d089339f161eb1e719b4b9b61e59e572587656
parent58850e210cd207399cf6461326e322541b2ec81c
oprofile: Abstract the perf-events backend

Move the perf-events backend from arch/arm/oprofile into
drivers/oprofile so that the code can be shared between architectures.

This allows each architecture to maintain only a single copy of the PMU
accessor functions instead of one for both perf and OProfile. It also
becomes possible for other architectures to delete much of their
OProfile code in favour of the common code now available in
drivers/oprofile/oprofile_perf.c.

Signed-off-by: Matt Fleming <matt@console-pimps.org>
Tested-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Signed-off-by: Robert Richter <robert.richter@amd.com>
arch/arm/oprofile/Makefile
arch/arm/oprofile/common.c
drivers/oprofile/oprofile_perf.c [new file with mode: 0644]
include/linux/oprofile.h