squashfs: fix use of uninitialised variable in zlib & xz decompressors
authorPhillip Lougher <phillip@lougher.demon.co.uk>
Tue, 25 Jan 2011 23:07:34 +0000 (15:07 -0800)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Wed, 26 Jan 2011 00:50:05 +0000 (10:50 +1000)
commit3689456b4bd36027022b3215eb2acba51cd0e6b5
tree8233856d31d744feacf6d91b0fb7dbe7fbcf2803
parentac15ee691fe84cb46cbd2497ddcb10e246f7ee47
squashfs: fix use of uninitialised variable in zlib & xz decompressors

Fix potential use of uninitialised variable caused by recent
decompressor code optimisations.

In zlib_uncompress (zlib_wrapper.c) we have

int zlib_err, zlib_init = 0;
...
do {
...
if (avail == 0) {
offset = 0;
put_bh(bh[k++]);
continue;
}
...
zlib_err = zlib_inflate(stream, Z_SYNC_FLUSH);
...
} while (zlib_err == Z_OK);

If continue is executed (avail == 0) then the while condition will be
evaluated testing zlib_err, which is uninitialised first time around the
loop.

Fix this by getting rid of the 'if (avail == 0)' condition test, this
edge condition should not be being handled in the decompressor code, and
instead handle it generically in the caller code.

Similarly for xz_wrapper.c.

Incidentally, on most architectures (bar Mips and Parisc), no
uninitialised variable warning is generated by gcc, this is because the
while condition test on continue is optimised out and not performed
(when executing continue zlib_err has not been changed since entering
the loop, and logically if the while condition was true previously, then
it's still true).

Signed-off-by: Phillip Lougher <phillip@lougher.demon.co.uk>
Reported-by: Jesper Juhl <jj@chaosbits.net>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
fs/squashfs/block.c
fs/squashfs/xz_wrapper.c
fs/squashfs/zlib_wrapper.c