mm: sigbus instead of abusing oom
authorHugh Dickins <hugh.dickins@tiscali.co.uk>
Tue, 15 Dec 2009 01:59:04 +0000 (17:59 -0800)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Tue, 15 Dec 2009 16:53:17 +0000 (08:53 -0800)
commitd99be1a8ecf377c2c9b3372d36411ad6547bbd4c
tree844a156da951783a46f9cfd0e66858eae12e5f54
parenta70caa8ba48f21f46d3b4e71b6b8d14080bbd57a
mm: sigbus instead of abusing oom

When do_nonlinear_fault() realizes that the page table must have been
corrupted for it to have been called, it does print_bad_pte() and returns
...  VM_FAULT_OOM, which is hard to understand.

It made some sense when I did it for 2.6.15, when do_page_fault() just
killed the current process; but nowadays it lets the OOM killer decide who
to kill - so page table corruption in one process would be liable to kill
another.

Change it to return VM_FAULT_SIGBUS instead: that doesn't guarantee that
the process will be killed, but is good enough for such a rare
abnormality, accompanied as it is by the "BUG: Bad page map" message.

And recent HWPOISON work has copied that code into do_swap_page(), when it
finds an impossible swap entry: fix that to VM_FAULT_SIGBUS too.

Signed-off-by: Hugh Dickins <hugh.dickins@tiscali.co.uk>
Cc: Izik Eidus <ieidus@redhat.com>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Nick Piggin <npiggin@suse.de>
Reviewed-by: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Lee Schermerhorn <Lee.Schermerhorn@hp.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org>
Reviewed-by: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>
Reviewed-by: Wu Fengguang <fengguang.wu@intel.com>
Reviewed-by: Minchan Kim <minchan.kim@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
mm/memory.c