ftrace, x86: make kernel text writable only for conversions
authorSteven Rostedt <srostedt@redhat.com>
Tue, 17 Feb 2009 22:57:30 +0000 (17:57 -0500)
committerSteven Rostedt <srostedt@redhat.com>
Fri, 20 Feb 2009 19:30:06 +0000 (14:30 -0500)
commit16239630974516a8879a3695ee9b4dc661f79f96
tree366d00276e67b8b33db4367cca1717aafb3322b6
parent000ab691172db3921efa3cb7f17fc79235a1de7f
ftrace, x86: make kernel text writable only for conversions

Impact: keep kernel text read only

Because dynamic ftrace converts the calls to mcount into and out of
nops at run time, we needed to always keep the kernel text writable.

But this defeats the point of CONFIG_DEBUG_RODATA. This patch converts
the kernel code to writable before ftrace modifies the text, and converts
it back to read only afterward.

The kernel text is converted to read/write, stop_machine is called to
modify the code, then the kernel text is converted back to read only.

The original version used SYSTEM_STATE to determine when it was OK
or not to change the code to rw or ro. Andrew Morton pointed out that
using SYSTEM_STATE is a bad idea since there is no guarantee to what
its state will actually be.

Instead, I moved the check into the set_kernel_text_* functions
themselves, and use a local variable to determine when it is
OK to change the kernel text RW permissions.

[ Update: Ingo Molnar suggested moving the prototypes to cacheflush.h ]

Reviewed-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Steven Rostedt <srostedt@redhat.com>
arch/x86/include/asm/cacheflush.h
arch/x86/kernel/ftrace.c
arch/x86/mm/init_32.c
arch/x86/mm/init_64.c