thermal: consider emul_temperature while computing trend
Eduardo Valentin [Fri, 7 Feb 2014 10:44:01 +0000 (02:44 -0800)]
In case emulated temperature is in use, using the trend
provided by driver layer can lead to bogus situation.
In this case, debugger user would set a temperature value,
but the trend would be from driver computation.

To avoid this situation, this patch changes the get_tz_trend()
to consider the emulated temperature whenever that is in use.

Change-Id: I509a24e8f398e5655589f0c7d24dcaeda81d9a9b
Cc: Zhang Rui <rui.zhang@intel.com>
Cc: Amit Daniel Kachhap <amit.daniel@samsung.com>
Cc: Durgadoss R <durgadoss.r@intel.com>
Cc: linux-pm@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Eduardo Valentin <eduardo.valentin@ti.com>
Signed-off-by: Zhang Rui <rui.zhang@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Paul Walmsley <pwalmsley@nvidia.com> # for the NVIDIA downstream kernel
Reviewed-on: http://git-master/r/356877
Reviewed-by: Diwakar Tundlam <dtundlam@nvidia.com>
Tested-by: Diwakar Tundlam <dtundlam@nvidia.com>

drivers/thermal/thermal_core.c

index 7762509..f007d0d 100644 (file)
@@ -167,7 +167,8 @@ int get_tz_trend(struct thermal_zone_device *tz, int trip)
 {
        enum thermal_trend trend;
 
-       if (!tz->ops->get_trend || tz->ops->get_trend(tz, trip, &trend)) {
+       if (tz->emul_temperature || !tz->ops->get_trend ||
+           tz->ops->get_trend(tz, trip, &trend)) {
                if (tz->temperature > tz->last_temperature)
                        trend = THERMAL_TREND_RAISING;
                else if (tz->temperature < tz->last_temperature)