vfs: fix incorrect dentry_update_name_case() BUG_ON() test
Linus Torvalds [Fri, 15 Apr 2011 14:34:26 +0000 (07:34 -0700)]
The case we should be verifying when updating the dentry name is that
the _parent_ inode (the directory) semaphore is held, not the semaphore
for the dentry itself.  It's the directory locking that rename and
readdir() etc all care about.

The comment just above even says so - but then the BUG_ON() still
checked the dentry inode itself.

Very few people noticed, because this helper function really isn't used
for very much, so you had to be using ncpfs to ever hit it.

I think I should just remove the BUG_ON (the function really has just
one user), but let's run with it fixed for a while before getting rid of
it entirely.

Reported-and-tested-by: Bongani Hlope <bonganih@bankservafrica.com>
Reported-and-tested-by: Bernd Feige <bernd.feige@uniklinik-freiburg.de>
Cc: Petr Vandrovec <petr@vandrovec.name>,
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
Cc: Nick Piggin <npiggin@kernel.dk>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>

fs/dcache.c

index ad25c4c..129a357 100644 (file)
@@ -2131,7 +2131,7 @@ EXPORT_SYMBOL(d_rehash);
  */
 void dentry_update_name_case(struct dentry *dentry, struct qstr *name)
 {
-       BUG_ON(!mutex_is_locked(&dentry->d_inode->i_mutex));
+       BUG_ON(!mutex_is_locked(&dentry->d_parent->d_inode->i_mutex));
        BUG_ON(dentry->d_name.len != name->len); /* d_lookup gives this */
 
        spin_lock(&dentry->d_lock);