proc: prevent accessing /proc/<PID>/environ until it's ready
Mathias Krause [Thu, 5 May 2016 23:22:26 +0000 (16:22 -0700)]
If /proc/<PID>/environ gets read before the envp[] array is fully set up
in create_{aout,elf,elf_fdpic,flat}_tables(), we might end up trying to
read more bytes than are actually written, as env_start will already be
set but env_end will still be zero, making the range calculation
underflow, allowing to read beyond the end of what has been written.

Fix this as it is done for /proc/<PID>/cmdline by testing env_end for
zero.  It is, apparently, intentionally set last in create_*_tables().

This bug was found by the PaX size_overflow plugin that detected the
arithmetic underflow of 'this_len = env_end - (env_start + src)' when
env_end is still zero.

The expected consequence is that userland trying to access
/proc/<PID>/environ of a not yet fully set up process may get
inconsistent data as we're in the middle of copying in the environment
variables.

Bug 1823317

Change-Id: I38356eb68ffd1294f1f1250fb328bd01a3b37158
Fixes: https://forums.grsecurity.net/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=4363
Fixes: https://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=116461
Signed-off-by: Mathias Krause <minipli@googlemail.com>
Cc: Emese Revfy <re.emese@gmail.com>
Cc: Pax Team <pageexec@freemail.hu>
Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Mateusz Guzik <mguzik@redhat.com>
Cc: Alexey Dobriyan <adobriyan@gmail.com>
Cc: Cyrill Gorcunov <gorcunov@openvz.org>
Cc: Jarod Wilson <jarod@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Gagan Grover <ggrover@nvidia.com>
Reviewed-on: http://git-master/r/1259930
GVS: Gerrit_Virtual_Submit
Reviewed-by: Vinayak Pane <vpane@nvidia.com>

fs/proc/base.c

index 0059115..a57cbc4 100644 (file)
@@ -847,7 +847,8 @@ static ssize_t environ_read(struct file *file, char __user *buf,
        int ret = 0;
        struct mm_struct *mm = file->private_data;
 
-       if (!mm)
+       /* Ensure the process spawned far enough to have an environment. */
+       if (!mm || !mm->env_end)
                return 0;
 
        page = (char *)__get_free_page(GFP_TEMPORARY);