idr: introduce idr_alloc_cyclic()
Jeff Layton [Mon, 29 Apr 2013 23:21:16 +0000 (16:21 -0700)]
As Tejun points out, there are several users of the IDR facility that
attempt to use it in a cyclic fashion.  These users are likely to see
-ENOSPC errors after the counter wraps one or more times however.

This patchset adds a new idr_alloc_cyclic routine and converts several
of these users to it.  Many of these users are in obscure parts of the
kernel, and I don't have a good way to test some of them.  The change is
pretty straightforward though, so hopefully it won't be an issue.

There is one other cyclic user of idr_alloc that I didn't touch in
ipc/util.c.  That one is doing some strange stuff that I didn't quite
understand, but it looks like it should probably be converted later
somehow.

This patch:

Thus spake Tejun Heo:

    Ooh, BTW, the cyclic allocation is broken.  It's prone to -ENOSPC
    after the first wraparound.  There are several cyclic users in the
    kernel and I think it probably would be best to implement cyclic
    support in idr.

This patch does that by adding new idr_alloc_cyclic function that such
users in the kernel can use.  With this, there's no need for a caller to
keep track of the last value used as that's now tracked internally.  This
should prevent the ENOSPC problems that can hit when the "last allocated"
counter exceeds INT_MAX.

Later patches will convert existing cyclic users to the new interface.

Signed-off-by: Jeff Layton <jlayton@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: "J. Bruce Fields" <bfields@fieldses.org>
Cc: Eric Paris <eparis@parisplace.org>
Cc: Jack Morgenstein <jackm@dev.mellanox.co.il>
Cc: John McCutchan <john@johnmccutchan.com>
Cc: Neil Horman <nhorman@tuxdriver.com>
Cc: Or Gerlitz <ogerlitz@mellanox.com>
Cc: Robert Love <rlove@rlove.org>
Cc: Roland Dreier <roland@purestorage.com>
Cc: Sridhar Samudrala <sri@us.ibm.com>
Cc: Steve Wise <swise@opengridcomputing.com>
Cc: Tom Tucker <tom@opengridcomputing.com>
Cc: Vlad Yasevich <vyasevich@gmail.com>

Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>

include/linux/idr.h
lib/idr.c

index 2640c7e..a470ac3 100644 (file)
@@ -42,6 +42,7 @@ struct idr {
        struct idr_layer        *id_free;
        int                     layers; /* only valid w/o concurrent changes */
        int                     id_free_cnt;
+       int                     cur;    /* current pos for cyclic allocation */
        spinlock_t              lock;
 };
 
@@ -75,6 +76,7 @@ struct idr {
 void *idr_find_slowpath(struct idr *idp, int id);
 void idr_preload(gfp_t gfp_mask);
 int idr_alloc(struct idr *idp, void *ptr, int start, int end, gfp_t gfp_mask);
+int idr_alloc_cyclic(struct idr *idr, void *ptr, int start, int end, gfp_t gfp_mask);
 int idr_for_each(struct idr *idp,
                 int (*fn)(int id, void *p, void *data), void *data);
 void *idr_get_next(struct idr *idp, int *nextid);
index 322e281..cca4b93 100644 (file)
--- a/lib/idr.c
+++ b/lib/idr.c
@@ -495,6 +495,33 @@ int idr_alloc(struct idr *idr, void *ptr, int start, int end, gfp_t gfp_mask)
 }
 EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(idr_alloc);
 
+/**
+ * idr_alloc_cyclic - allocate new idr entry in a cyclical fashion
+ * @idr: the (initialized) idr
+ * @ptr: pointer to be associated with the new id
+ * @start: the minimum id (inclusive)
+ * @end: the maximum id (exclusive, <= 0 for max)
+ * @gfp_mask: memory allocation flags
+ *
+ * Essentially the same as idr_alloc, but prefers to allocate progressively
+ * higher ids if it can. If the "cur" counter wraps, then it will start again
+ * at the "start" end of the range and allocate one that has already been used.
+ */
+int idr_alloc_cyclic(struct idr *idr, void *ptr, int start, int end,
+                       gfp_t gfp_mask)
+{
+       int id;
+
+       id = idr_alloc(idr, ptr, max(start, idr->cur), end, gfp_mask);
+       if (id == -ENOSPC)
+               id = idr_alloc(idr, ptr, start, end, gfp_mask);
+
+       if (likely(id >= 0))
+               idr->cur = id + 1;
+       return id;
+}
+EXPORT_SYMBOL(idr_alloc_cyclic);
+
 static void idr_remove_warning(int id)
 {
        printk(KERN_WARNING