perf annotate: Add a comment on the symbol__parse_objdump_line()
Namhyung Kim [Tue, 5 Mar 2013 05:53:22 +0000 (14:53 +0900)]
The symbol__parse_objdump_line() parses result of the objdump run but
it's hard to follow if one doesn't know the output format of the
objdump.  Add a head comment on the function to help her.

Signed-off-by: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1362462812-30885-3-git-send-email-namhyung@kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>

tools/perf/util/annotate.c

index 7eac5f0..fa347b1 100644 (file)
@@ -689,6 +689,26 @@ static int disasm_line__print(struct disasm_line *dl, struct symbol *sym, u64 st
        return 0;
 }
 
+/*
+ * symbol__parse_objdump_line() parses objdump output (with -d --no-show-raw)
+ * which looks like following
+ *
+ *  0000000000415500 <_init>:
+ *    415500:       sub    $0x8,%rsp
+ *    415504:       mov    0x2f5ad5(%rip),%rax        # 70afe0 <_DYNAMIC+0x2f8>
+ *    41550b:       test   %rax,%rax
+ *    41550e:       je     415515 <_init+0x15>
+ *    415510:       callq  416e70 <__gmon_start__@plt>
+ *    415515:       add    $0x8,%rsp
+ *    415519:       retq
+ *
+ * it will be parsed and saved into struct disasm_line as
+ *  <offset>       <name>  <ops.raw>
+ *
+ * The offset will be a relative offset from the start of the symbol and -1
+ * means that it's not a disassembly line so should be treated differently.
+ * The ops.raw part will be parsed further according to type of the instruction.
+ */
 static int symbol__parse_objdump_line(struct symbol *sym, struct map *map,
                                      FILE *file, size_t privsize)
 {