h8300: Use generic idle loop
Thomas Gleixner [Thu, 21 Mar 2013 21:49:45 +0000 (22:49 +0100)]
Use the core idle poll function instead of the private one

Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>
Cc: Paul McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Reviewed-by: Cc: Srivatsa S. Bhat <srivatsa.bhat@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Magnus Damm <magnus.damm@gmail.com>
Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20130321215234.277153345@linutronix.de
Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>

arch/h8300/Kconfig
arch/h8300/kernel/process.c

index 79250de..5374975 100644 (file)
@@ -8,6 +8,7 @@ config H8300
        select VIRT_TO_BUS
        select ARCH_WANT_IPC_PARSE_VERSION
        select GENERIC_IRQ_SHOW
+       select GENERIC_IDLE_LOOP
        select GENERIC_CPU_DEVICES
        select MODULES_USE_ELF_RELA
        select OLD_SIGSUSPEND3
index b609f63..a17d2cd 100644 (file)
@@ -53,40 +53,13 @@ asmlinkage void ret_from_kernel_thread(void);
  * The idle loop on an H8/300..
  */
 #if !defined(CONFIG_H8300H_SIM) && !defined(CONFIG_H8S_SIM)
-static void default_idle(void)
+void arch_cpu_idle(void)
 {
-       local_irq_disable();
-       if (!need_resched()) {
-               local_irq_enable();
-               /* XXX: race here! What if need_resched() gets set now? */
-               __asm__("sleep");
-       } else
-               local_irq_enable();
-}
-#else
-static void default_idle(void)
-{
-       cpu_relax();
+       local_irq_enable();
+       /* XXX: race here! What if need_resched() gets set now? */
+       __asm__("sleep");
 }
 #endif
-void (*idle)(void) = default_idle;
-
-/*
- * The idle thread. There's no useful work to be
- * done, so just try to conserve power and have a
- * low exit latency (ie sit in a loop waiting for
- * somebody to say that they'd like to reschedule)
- */
-void cpu_idle(void)
-{
-       while (1) {
-               rcu_idle_enter();
-               while (!need_resched())
-                       idle();
-               rcu_idle_exit();
-               schedule_preempt_disabled();
-       }
-}
 
 void machine_restart(char * __unused)
 {