perf tests: Make attr script verbose friendly
Jiri Olsa [Mon, 25 Feb 2013 09:52:49 +0000 (10:52 +0100)]
Making the attr test script runner to pass proper verbose option. Also
making single '-v' be more reader friendly and display just the test
name.

Making the current output to be display for '-vv'.

Signed-off-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Corey Ashford <cjashfor@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com>
Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1361785972-7431-3-git-send-email-jolsa@redhat.com
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>

tools/perf/tests/attr.c
tools/perf/tests/attr.py

index bdcceb8..038de3e 100644 (file)
@@ -147,10 +147,15 @@ void test_attr__open(struct perf_event_attr *attr, pid_t pid, int cpu,
 
 static int run_dir(const char *d, const char *perf)
 {
+       char v[] = "-vvvvv";
+       int vcnt = min(verbose, (int) sizeof(v) - 1);
        char cmd[3*PATH_MAX];
 
-       snprintf(cmd, 3*PATH_MAX, PYTHON " %s/attr.py -d %s/attr/ -p %s %s",
-                d, d, perf, verbose ? "-v" : "");
+       if (verbose)
+               vcnt++;
+
+       snprintf(cmd, 3*PATH_MAX, PYTHON " %s/attr.py -d %s/attr/ -p %s %.*s",
+                d, d, perf, vcnt, v);
 
        return system(cmd);
 }
index 2f629ca..e0ea513 100644 (file)
@@ -121,7 +121,7 @@ class Test(object):
         parser = ConfigParser.SafeConfigParser()
         parser.read(path)
 
-        log.debug("running '%s'" % path)
+        log.warning("running '%s'" % path)
 
         self.path     = path
         self.test_dir = options.test_dir
@@ -172,7 +172,7 @@ class Test(object):
               self.perf, self.command, tempdir, self.args)
         ret = os.WEXITSTATUS(os.system(cmd))
 
-        log.warning("  running '%s' ret %d " % (cmd, ret))
+        log.info("  '%s' ret %d " % (cmd, ret))
 
         if ret != int(self.ret):
             raise Unsup(self)