Revert "x86: cap iomem_resource to addressable physical memory"
authorH. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Sat, 27 Jun 2009 19:22:27 +0000 (12:22 -0700)
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Sun, 28 Jun 2009 07:38:47 +0000 (09:38 +0200)
commitff8a4bae459a9b6455504127fcb78fdbc8e50e4c
tree2ff193d08a9412e0e0964666d65836ba382473e4
parente888d7facd1f1460a638151036d15b6cfb3ccc74
Revert "x86: cap iomem_resource to addressable physical memory"

This reverts commit 95ee14e4379c5e19c0897c872350570402014742.
Mikael Petterson <mikepe@it.uu.se> reported that at least one of his
systems will not boot as a result.  We have ruled out the detection
algorithm malfunctioning, so it is not a matter of producing the
incorrect bitmasks; rather, something in the application of them
fails.

Revert the commit until we can root cause and correct this problem.

-stable team: this means the underlying commit should be rejected.

Reported-and-isolated-by: Mikael Petterson <mikpe@it.uu.se>
Signed-off-by: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
LKML-Reference: <200906261559.n5QFxJH8027336@pilspetsen.it.uu.se>
Cc: stable@kernel.org
Cc: Grant Grundler <grundler@parisc-linux.org>
arch/x86/kernel/cpu/common.c