mm: hwpoison: fix action_result() to print out dirty/clean
authorNaoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com>
Wed, 12 Dec 2012 00:01:32 +0000 (16:01 -0800)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Wed, 12 Dec 2012 01:22:24 +0000 (17:22 -0800)
commitff604cf6d41f1e05f34762e1d764fe14a0f5f964
treea70ca63c8bbf203a8109ec59236b3deed846416f
parent5de55b265a13bc263c823bbe05d87d2c5e785f6f
mm: hwpoison: fix action_result() to print out dirty/clean

action_result() fails to print out "dirty" even if an error occurred on
a dirty pagecache, because when we check PageDirty in action_result() it
was cleared after page isolation even if it's dirty before error
handling.  This can break some applications that monitor this message,
so should be fixed.

There are several callers of action_result() except page_action(), but
either of them are not for LRU pages but for free pages or kernel pages,
so we don't have to consider dirty or not for them.

Note that PG_dirty can be set outside page locks as described in commit
6746aff74da2 ("HWPOISON: shmem: call set_page_dirty() with locked
page"), so this patch does not completely closes the race window, but
just narrows it.

Signed-off-by: Naoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com>
Reviewed-by: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
Cc: "Jun'ichi Nomura" <j-nomura@ce.jp.nec.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
mm/memory-failure.c