perf: Pass last sampling period to perf_sample_data_init()
authorRobert Richter <robert.richter@amd.com>
Mon, 2 Apr 2012 18:19:08 +0000 (20:19 +0200)
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Wed, 9 May 2012 13:23:12 +0000 (15:23 +0200)
commitfd0d000b2c34aa43d4e92dcf0dfaeda7e123008a
tree8b81831cf37f1be6dd3cc9be772952d5c835a550
parentc75841a398d667d9968245b9519d93cedbfb4780
perf: Pass last sampling period to perf_sample_data_init()

We always need to pass the last sample period to
perf_sample_data_init(), otherwise the event distribution will be
wrong. Thus, modifiyng the function interface with the required period
as argument. So basically a pattern like this:

        perf_sample_data_init(&data, ~0ULL);
        data.period = event->hw.last_period;

will now be like that:

        perf_sample_data_init(&data, ~0ULL, event->hw.last_period);

Avoids unininitialized data.period and simplifies code.

Signed-off-by: Robert Richter <robert.richter@amd.com>
Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1333390758-10893-3-git-send-email-robert.richter@amd.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
15 files changed:
arch/alpha/kernel/perf_event.c
arch/arm/kernel/perf_event_v6.c
arch/arm/kernel/perf_event_v7.c
arch/arm/kernel/perf_event_xscale.c
arch/mips/kernel/perf_event_mipsxx.c
arch/powerpc/perf/core-book3s.c
arch/powerpc/perf/core-fsl-emb.c
arch/sparc/kernel/perf_event.c
arch/x86/kernel/cpu/perf_event.c
arch/x86/kernel/cpu/perf_event_amd_ibs.c
arch/x86/kernel/cpu/perf_event_intel.c
arch/x86/kernel/cpu/perf_event_intel_ds.c
arch/x86/kernel/cpu/perf_event_p4.c
include/linux/perf_event.h
kernel/events/core.c