mm: methods for teaching filesystems about PG_swapcache pages
authorMel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Tue, 31 Jul 2012 23:44:47 +0000 (16:44 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Wed, 1 Aug 2012 01:42:47 +0000 (18:42 -0700)
commitf981c5950fa85916ba49bea5d9a7a5078f47e569
treee742598755e57e1bbed06dc90b05fe6e13091236
parent6290c2c439732727899405f39fb76c2f5585b707
mm: methods for teaching filesystems about PG_swapcache pages

In order to teach filesystems to handle swap cache pages, three new page
functions are introduced:

  pgoff_t page_file_index(struct page *);
  loff_t page_file_offset(struct page *);
  struct address_space *page_file_mapping(struct page *);

page_file_index() - gives the offset of this page in the file in
PAGE_CACHE_SIZE blocks.  Like page->index is for mapped pages, this
function also gives the correct index for PG_swapcache pages.

page_file_offset() - uses page_file_index(), so that it will give the
expected result, even for PG_swapcache pages.

page_file_mapping() - gives the mapping backing the actual page; that is
for swap cache pages it will give swap_file->f_mapping.

Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Signed-off-by: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Reviewed-by: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org>
Cc: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: Eric B Munson <emunson@mgebm.net>
Cc: Eric Paris <eparis@redhat.com>
Cc: James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: Mike Christie <michaelc@cs.wisc.edu>
Cc: Neil Brown <neilb@suse.de>
Cc: Sebastian Andrzej Siewior <sebastian@breakpoint.cc>
Cc: Trond Myklebust <Trond.Myklebust@netapp.com>
Cc: Xiaotian Feng <dfeng@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
include/linux/mm.h
include/linux/pagemap.h
include/linux/swap.h
mm/swapfile.c