x86, pci, mrst: Add extra sanity check in walking the PCI extended cap chain
authorJacob Pan <jacob.jun.pan@linux.intel.com>
Fri, 16 Jul 2010 18:58:26 +0000 (11:58 -0700)
committerH. Peter Anvin <hpa@linux.intel.com>
Fri, 16 Jul 2010 23:52:15 +0000 (16:52 -0700)
commitf82c3d71d6fd2e6a3e3416f09099e29087e39abf
tree2101f7be744320cce3356e290fb4ba6c1796a1c2
parentfd19dce7ac07973f700b0f13fb7f94b951414a4c
x86, pci, mrst: Add extra sanity check in walking the PCI extended cap chain

The fixed bar capability structure is searched in PCI extended
configuration space.  We need to make sure there is a valid capability
ID to begin with otherwise, the search code may stuck in a infinite
loop which results in boot hang.  This patch adds additional check for
cap ID 0, which is also invalid, and indicates end of chain.

End of chain is supposed to have all fields zero, but that doesn't
seem to always be the case in the field.

Suggested-by: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Signed-off-by: Jacob Pan <jacob.jun.pan@linux.intel.com>
Reviewed-by: Jesse Barnes <jbarnes@virtuousgeek.org>
LKML-Reference: <1279306706-27087-1-git-send-email-jacob.jun.pan@linux.intel.com>
Signed-off-by: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@linux.intel.com>
arch/x86/pci/mrst.c