tick: Don't invoke tick_nohz_stop_sched_tick() if the cpu is offline
authorThomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Mon, 13 May 2013 19:40:27 +0000 (21:40 +0200)
committerThomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Tue, 14 May 2013 15:40:31 +0000 (17:40 +0200)
commitf7ea0fd639c2c48d3c61b6eec75362be290c6874
tree9b9d22393afbaa246272d896d2641fb0c33887be
parent4b0c0f294f60abcdd20994a8341a95c8ac5eeb96
tick: Don't invoke tick_nohz_stop_sched_tick() if the cpu is offline

commit 5b39939a4 (nohz: Move ts->idle_calls incrementation into strict
idle logic) moved code out of tick_nohz_stop_sched_tick() and missed
to bail out when the cpu is offline. That's causing subsequent
failures as an offline CPU is supposed to die and not to fiddle with
nohz magic.

Return false in can_stop_idle_tick() if the cpu is offline.

Reported-and-tested-by: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>
Reported-and-tested-by: Prarit Bhargava <prarit@redhat.com>
Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
Cc: x86@kernel.org
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/alpine.LFD.2.02.1305132138160.2863@ionos
Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
kernel/time/tick-sched.c