Revert "ACPI / scan: do not match drivers against objects having scan handlers"
authorRafael J. Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>
Sat, 8 Jun 2013 00:55:07 +0000 (02:55 +0200)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Sat, 8 Jun 2013 01:33:12 +0000 (18:33 -0700)
commitea7f665612fcc73da6b7698f468cd5fc03a30d47
tree794cbc4d43b2682e2624410d8114e4a7f986046f
parente8193ce572f0ddb8004acf976bba119f0abbe6ca
Revert "ACPI / scan: do not match drivers against objects having scan handlers"

Commit 9f29ab11ddbf ("ACPI / scan: do not match drivers against objects
having scan handlers") introduced a boot regression on Tony's ia64 HP
rx2600.  Tony says:

  "It panics with the message:

   Kernel panic - not syncing: Unable to find SBA IOMMU: Try a generic or DIG kernel

   [...] my problem comes from arch/ia64/hp/common/sba_iommu.c
   where the code in sba_init() says:

        acpi_bus_register_driver(&acpi_sba_ioc_driver);
        if (!ioc_list) {

   but because of this change we never managed to call ioc_init()
   so ioc_list doesn't get set up, and we die."

Revert it to avoid this breakage and we'll fix the problem it attempted
to address later.

Reported-by: Tony Luck <tony.luck@gmail.com>
Cc: 3.9+ <stable@vger.kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Rafael J. Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
drivers/acpi/scan.c