lib/scatterlist.c: don't flush_kernel_dcache_page on slab page
authorMing Lei <ming.lei@canonical.com>
Thu, 31 Oct 2013 23:34:17 +0000 (16:34 -0700)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Wed, 13 Nov 2013 03:05:33 +0000 (12:05 +0900)
commite14594cd658f655ae3384fcc3ec8c345b36cd4d0
tree1f0a54dbf7717dd2f92f45dbf0728a9b2467b067
parentc79c7ad9d1398787f907f85afc44cf7d6623027d
lib/scatterlist.c: don't flush_kernel_dcache_page on slab page

commit 3d77b50c5874b7e923be946ba793644f82336b75 upstream.

Commit b1adaf65ba03 ("[SCSI] block: add sg buffer copy helper
functions") introduces two sg buffer copy helpers, and calls
flush_kernel_dcache_page() on pages in SG list after these pages are
written to.

Unfortunately, the commit may introduce a potential bug:

 - Before sending some SCSI commands, kmalloc() buffer may be passed to
   block layper, so flush_kernel_dcache_page() can see a slab page
   finally

 - According to cachetlb.txt, flush_kernel_dcache_page() is only called
   on "a user page", which surely can't be a slab page.

 - ARCH's implementation of flush_kernel_dcache_page() may use page
   mapping information to do optimization so page_mapping() will see the
   slab page, then VM_BUG_ON() is triggered.

Aaro Koskinen reported the bug on ARM/kirkwood when DEBUG_VM is enabled,
and this patch fixes the bug by adding test of '!PageSlab(miter->page)'
before calling flush_kernel_dcache_page().

Signed-off-by: Ming Lei <ming.lei@canonical.com>
Reported-by: Aaro Koskinen <aaro.koskinen@iki.fi>
Tested-by: Simon Baatz <gmbnomis@gmail.com>
Cc: Russell King - ARM Linux <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: Aaro Koskinen <aaro.koskinen@iki.fi>
Acked-by: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: FUJITA Tomonori <fujita.tomonori@lab.ntt.co.jp>
Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
Cc: "James E.J. Bottomley" <JBottomley@parallels.com>
Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
lib/scatterlist.c