target: Fix >= v3.9+ regression in PR APTPL + ALUA metadata write-out
authorGera Kazakov <gkazakov@msn.com>
Mon, 9 Sep 2013 22:47:06 +0000 (15:47 -0700)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Fri, 27 Sep 2013 00:18:27 +0000 (17:18 -0700)
commite041da063093c8f0a713b09560dc5bf6985e8a0a
tree9b1ce4a587d85e967f0ad1c234479e92377c53ac
parent2008c41d079db04dfc6d6a29bd8a7292ed1299a3
target: Fix >= v3.9+ regression in PR APTPL + ALUA metadata write-out

commit f730f9158f6ee7b5c4d892af6b51a72194445ea4 upstream.

This patch fixes a >= v3.9+ regression in __core_scsi3_write_aptpl_to_file()
+ core_alua_write_tpg_metadata() write-out, where a return value of -EIO was
incorrectly being returned upon success.

This bug was originally introduced in:

commit 0e9b10a90f1c30f25dd6f130130240745ab14010
Author: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Date:   Sat Feb 23 15:22:43 2013 -0500

    target: writev() on single-element vector is pointless

However, given that the return of core_scsi3_update_and_write_aptpl()
was not used to determine if a command should be returned with non GOOD
status, this bug was not being triggered in PR logic until v3.11-rc1 by
commit:

commit 459f213ba162bd13e113d6f92a8fa6c780fd67ed
Author: Andy Grover <agrover@redhat.com>
Date:   Thu May 16 10:41:02 2013 -0700

    target: Allocate aptpl_buf inside update_and_write_aptpl()

So, go ahead and only return -EIO if kernel_write() returned a
negative value.

Reported-by: Gera Kazakov <gkazakov@msn.com>
Signed-off-by: Gera Kazakov <gkazakov@msn.com>
Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Andy Grover <agrover@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Nicholas Bellinger <nab@linux-iscsi.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
drivers/target/target_core_alua.c
drivers/target/target_core_pr.c