mac80211: drop spoofed packets in ad-hoc mode
authorFelix Fietkau <nbd@openwrt.org>
Tue, 17 Sep 2013 09:15:43 +0000 (11:15 +0200)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Wed, 13 Nov 2013 03:05:30 +0000 (12:05 +0900)
commitd7da0fc72d073181e65970edad0a9461542e02c6
tree2f1b11a406346e39d0a27e8b83ff4ee369a999f4
parent715a606d73f63e94259e6251565e6e12e3271d0f
mac80211: drop spoofed packets in ad-hoc mode

commit 6329b8d917adc077caa60c2447385554130853a3 upstream.

If an Ad-Hoc node receives packets with the Cell ID or its own MAC
address as source address, it hits a WARN_ON in sta_info_insert_check()
With many packets, this can massively spam the logs. One way that this
can easily happen is through having Cisco APs in the area with rouge AP
detection and countermeasures enabled.
Such Cisco APs will regularly send fake beacons, disassoc and deauth
packets that trigger these warnings.

To fix this issue, drop such spoofed packets early in the rx path.

Reported-by: Thomas Huehn <thomas@net.t-labs.tu-berlin.de>
Signed-off-by: Felix Fietkau <nbd@openwrt.org>
Signed-off-by: Johannes Berg <johannes.berg@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
net/mac80211/rx.c