perf: Fix race in swevent hash
authorAmulya Y <ayarlagadda@nvidia.com>
Thu, 5 Apr 2018 21:58:38 +0000 (14:58 -0700)
committerWinnie Hsu <whsu@nvidia.com>
Thu, 19 Apr 2018 17:01:19 +0000 (10:01 -0700)
commitcc6fff57cf0a8bcee5ebd7edd963f6f2deee0961
tree5b280d519e1337ffd26fd1523d2094abe7d4e202
parent86ea6e03724ffd7989cc4bdf4b88f4484e3945d9
perf: Fix race in swevent hash

There's a race on CPU unplug where we free the swevent hash array
while it can still have events on. This will result in a
use-after-free which is BAD.

Simply do not free the hash array on unplug. This leaves the thing
around and no use-after-free takes place.

When the last swevent dies, we do a for_each_possible_cpu() iteration
anyway to clean these up, at which time we'll free it, so no leakage
will occur.

Bug 1823317
But 1935735

Change-Id: I309528873f8576f96663afbe51ce2739934df16c
Reported-by: Sasha Levin <sasha.levin@oracle.com>
Tested-by: Sasha Levin <sasha.levin@oracle.com>
Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@maine.edu>
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Gagan Grover <ggrover@nvidia.com>
Signed-off-by: Amulya Yarlagadda <ayarlagadda@nvidia.com>
Reviewed-on: http://git-master/r/1259934
(cherry picked from commit 5ea640855404df656d94bfa3990d8eba2b5f90f9)
Reviewed-on: https://git-master.nvidia.com/r/1689560
GVS: Gerrit_Virtual_Submit
Reviewed-by: Bibek Basu <bbasu@nvidia.com>
Reviewed-by: Winnie Hsu <whsu@nvidia.com>
kernel/events/core.c