ptrace: Fix ptrace_regset() comments and diagnose errors specifically
authorSuresh Siddha <suresh.b.siddha@intel.com>
Mon, 22 Feb 2010 22:51:32 +0000 (14:51 -0800)
committerH. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Tue, 23 Feb 2010 21:45:26 +0000 (13:45 -0800)
commitc6a0dd7ec6fb2d4927979ed4dc562fc5c122d826
tree415f5e04788eb289820685b33dabcc7949d6196b
parent5e6dbc260704ce4d22fc9664f517f0bb6748feaa
ptrace: Fix ptrace_regset() comments and diagnose errors specifically

Return -EINVAL for the bad size and for unrecognized NT_* type in
ptrace_regset() instead of -EIO.

Also update the comments for this ptrace interface with more clarifications.

Requested-by: Roland McGrath <roland@redhat.com>
Requested-by: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Suresh Siddha <suresh.b.siddha@intel.com>
LKML-Reference: <20100222225240.397523600@sbs-t61.sc.intel.com>
Acked-by: Roland McGrath <roland@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
include/linux/ptrace.h
kernel/ptrace.c