nohz: Switch from "extended nohz" to "full nohz" based naming
authorFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Fri, 12 Apr 2013 14:45:34 +0000 (16:45 +0200)
committerFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Mon, 15 Apr 2013 17:58:17 +0000 (19:58 +0200)
commitc5bfece2d6129131b4ade985e63bc35ddf5868d4
tree65b7f1c3e9ad5dd45375ccdc1dab187ba968cf59
parent0644ca5c774f1a7033bfc83c7ed0660f74f28b56
nohz: Switch from "extended nohz" to "full nohz" based naming

"Extended nohz" was used as a naming base for the full dynticks
API and Kconfig symbols. It reflects the fact the system tries
to stop the tick in more places than just idle.

But that "extended" name is a bit opaque and vague. Rename it to
"full" makes it clearer what the system tries to do under this
config: try to shutdown the tick anytime it can. The various
constraints that prevent that to happen shouldn't be considered
as fundamental properties of this feature but rather technical
issues that may be solved in the future.

Reported-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com>
Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
Cc: Geoff Levand <geoff@infradead.org>
Cc: Gilad Ben Yossef <gilad@benyossef.com>
Cc: Hakan Akkan <hakanakkan@gmail.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Kevin Hilman <khilman@linaro.org>
Cc: Li Zhong <zhong@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Documentation/kernel-parameters.txt
include/linux/tick.h
kernel/sched/core.c
kernel/time/Kconfig
kernel/time/tick-broadcast.c
kernel/time/tick-common.c
kernel/time/tick-sched.c