nohz: Select VIRT_CPU_ACCOUNTING_GEN from full dynticks config
authorFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Fri, 26 Apr 2013 13:16:31 +0000 (15:16 +0200)
committerFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Fri, 26 Apr 2013 16:56:59 +0000 (18:56 +0200)
commitc58b0df12a6b5c497637db0676effd00e1fbab13
treefcceffefccc7c2e33d87406a5e4531c4c613a5ec
parent65e709dc0c25dbd563861924815e9a3a93878b75
nohz: Select VIRT_CPU_ACCOUNTING_GEN from full dynticks config

Turn the full dynticks passive dependency on VIRT_CPU_ACCOUNTING_GEN
to an active one.

The full dynticks Kconfig is currently hidden behind the full dynticks
cputime accounting, which is an awkward and counter-intuitive layout:
the user first has to select the dynticks cputime accounting in order
to make the full dynticks feature to be visible.

We definetly want it the other way around. The usual way to perform
this kind of active dependency is use "select" on the depended target.
Now we can't use the Kconfig "select" instruction when the target is
a "choice".

So this patch inspires on how the RCU subsystem Kconfig interact
with its dependencies on SMP and PREEMPT: we make sure that cputime
accounting can't propose another option than VIRT_CPU_ACCOUNTING_GEN
when NO_HZ_FULL is selected by using the right "depends on" instruction
for each cputime accounting choices.

v2: Keep full dynticks cputime accounting available even without
full dynticks, as per Paul McKenney's suggestion.

Reported-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
Cc: Hakan Akkan <hakanakkan@gmail.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Kevin Hilman <khilman@linaro.org>
Cc: Li Zhong <zhong@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
init/Kconfig
kernel/time/Kconfig