clockevents: Switch into oneshot mode even if broadcast registered late
authorStephen Boyd <sboyd@codeaurora.org>
Wed, 17 Apr 2013 17:26:06 +0000 (10:26 -0700)
committerThomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Wed, 17 Apr 2013 19:30:56 +0000 (21:30 +0200)
commitc038c1c44179c80da6201f91ef354e48d5689617
treea1ee34eadd567393cbdb6632ad7b8abb4a2fc4ea
parentb3956a896ea57f25cacd74708b8fab611543a81d
clockevents: Switch into oneshot mode even if broadcast registered late

tick_oneshot_notify() is used to notify a particular CPU to try
to switch into oneshot mode after a oneshot capable tick device
is registered and tick_clock_notify() is used to notify all CPUs
to try to switch into oneshot mode after a high res clocksource
is registered. There is one caveat; if the tick devices suffer
from FEAT_C3_STOP we don't try to switch into oneshot mode unless
we have a oneshot capable broadcast device already registered.

If the broadcast device is registered after the tick devices that
have FEAT_C3_STOP we'll never try to switch into oneshot mode
again, causing us to be stuck in periodic mode forever. Avoid
this scenario by calling tick_clock_notify() after we register
the broadcast device so that we try to switch into oneshot mode
on all CPUs one more time.

[ tglx: Adopted to timers/core and added a comment ]

Signed-off-by: Stephen Boyd <sboyd@codeaurora.org>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1366219566-29783-1-git-send-email-sboyd@codeaurora.org
Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
kernel/time/tick-broadcast.c