tools/power turbostat: Use $(CURDIR) instead of $(PWD) and add support for O= option...
authorThomas D <whissi@whissi.de>
Mon, 5 Jan 2015 20:37:23 +0000 (21:37 +0100)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Wed, 6 May 2015 19:56:26 +0000 (21:56 +0200)
commitbc7df9868f9e35cd883d7cb61bbf60de2413c450
tree9701b472c953f28314553b72cbadc602631419e3
parent903b1970c835f69a1e2f1bde5ac446691b396a5c
tools/power turbostat: Use $(CURDIR) instead of $(PWD) and add support for O= option in Makefile

commit f82263c6989c31ae9b94cecddffb29dcbec38710 upstream.

Since commit ee0778a30153
("tools/power: turbostat: make Makefile a bit more capable")
turbostat's Makefile is using

  [...]
  BUILD_OUTPUT    := $(PWD)
  [...]

which obviously causes trouble when building "turbostat" with

  make -C /usr/src/linux/tools/power/x86/turbostat ARCH=x86 turbostat

because GNU make does not update nor guarantee that $PWD is set.

This patch changes the Makefile to use $CURDIR instead, which GNU make
guarantees to set and update (i.e. when using "make -C ...") and also
adds support for the O= option (see "make help" in your root of your
kernel source tree for more details).

Link: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=533918
Fixes: ee0778a30153 ("tools/power: turbostat: make Makefile a bit more capable")
Signed-off-by: Thomas D. <whissi@whissi.de>
Cc: Mark Asselstine <mark.asselstine@windriver.com>
Signed-off-by: Len Brown <len.brown@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
tools/power/x86/turbostat/Makefile