x86,nobootmem: make alloc_bootmem_node fall back to other node when 32bit numa is...
authorYinghai Lu <yinghai@kernel.org>
Tue, 20 Jul 2010 20:24:31 +0000 (13:24 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Tue, 20 Jul 2010 23:25:40 +0000 (16:25 -0700)
commitb8ab9f82025adea77864115da73e70026fa4f540
tree37d83932b99efd4aac2fccb2075a76bf0a147769
parent9aebbdb637a73a6092e1456ebb4a2df32cc1f611
x86,nobootmem: make alloc_bootmem_node fall back to other node when 32bit numa is used

Borislav Petkov reported his 32bit numa system has problem:

[    0.000000] Reserving total of 4c00 pages for numa KVA remap
[    0.000000] kva_start_pfn ~ 32800 max_low_pfn ~ 375fe
[    0.000000] max_pfn = 238000
[    0.000000] 8202MB HIGHMEM available.
[    0.000000] 885MB LOWMEM available.
[    0.000000]   mapped low ram: 0 - 375fe000
[    0.000000]   low ram: 0 - 375fe000
[    0.000000] alloc (nid=8 100000 - 7ee00000) (1000000 - ffffffff) 1000 1000 => 34e7000
[    0.000000] alloc (nid=8 100000 - 7ee00000) (1000000 - ffffffff) 200 40 => 34c9d80
[    0.000000] alloc (nid=0 100000 - 7ee00000) (1000000 - ffffffffffffffff) 180 40 => 34e6140
[    0.000000] alloc (nid=1 80000000 - c7e60000) (1000000 - ffffffffffffffff) 240 40 => 80000000
[    0.000000] BUG: unable to handle kernel paging request at 40000000
[    0.000000] IP: [<c2c8cff1>] __alloc_memory_core_early+0x147/0x1d6
[    0.000000] *pdpt = 0000000000000000 *pde = f000ff53f000ff00
...
[    0.000000] Call Trace:
[    0.000000]  [<c2c8b4f8>] ? __alloc_bootmem_node+0x216/0x22f
[    0.000000]  [<c2c90c9b>] ? sparse_early_usemaps_alloc_node+0x5a/0x10b
[    0.000000]  [<c2c9149e>] ? sparse_init+0x1dc/0x499
[    0.000000]  [<c2c79118>] ? paging_init+0x168/0x1df
[    0.000000]  [<c2c780ff>] ? native_pagetable_setup_start+0xef/0x1bb

looks like it allocates too much high address for bootmem.

Try to cut limit with get_max_mapped()

Reported-by: Borislav Petkov <borislav.petkov@amd.com>
Tested-by: Conny Seidel <conny.seidel@amd.com>
Signed-off-by: Yinghai Lu <yinghai@kernel.org>
Cc: <stable@kernel.org> [2.6.34.x]
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
Cc: Lee Schermerhorn <lee.schermerhorn@hp.com>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
mm/bootmem.c
mm/page_alloc.c